TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
6,367 Posts
Cool. Ya know, we were working outside yesterday and two planes flew over amazingly low, in the distance from me, but low. And here is the thing. I could swear they were A-10's. Can't really see how they could be, but that is sure what they looked like and I have had some experience with them coming right over me.

·
Registered
2,516 Posts
Nice , we do not have a B-17 that fly's around but I have seen a B-25 & a B-24 , P-51 and a few more great aircraft .

·
Registered
7,111 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Nice , we do not have a B-17 that fly's around but I have seen a B-25 & a B-24 , P-51 and a few more great aircraft .
I have seen an early model P-51 fly by, the kind without the bubble canopy. And there is also a B-25 but I haven't seen it fly. The Collings Foundation is in town barnstorming.

I went for a ride on the B-17 a few years ago and it was worth every penny. My Dad was a waist gunner on a B-17 so I have a special fondness for them.

·
Registered
7,111 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
The plane I went on it was $300 per head at the time and you could wander all over the plane once it took off. Now I think it is $450 per person for a 1/2 hour flight and like I said earlier, it is worth every penny!

A couple of pictures. It was a beautiful day!!! Clear and warm. A perfect day to go for a ride in a Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress.......... and it was far from any war or combat.

The Golden Gate Bridge from the left waist window:

Copy of LWGGB.jpg

Mount Umunhum and Mount Loma Prieta in the distance.

Clearday.jpg

·
Super Moderator
18,001 Posts
The B-17 was up here in Spokane this weekend. I could see it from the porch swing outside. Yep, it's 450.00 now.

·
Registered
13,662 Posts
Tony,