TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 145 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,048 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Posting things us geezers may remember. I was a freshman in HS..

May 18'th 1980:

Mount St. Helens in Washington erupts, causing a massive avalanche and killing 57 people on this day in 1980. Ash from the volcanic eruption fell as far away as Minnesota.

Seismic activity at Mount St. Helens, which is 96 miles south of Seattle, began on March 16. A 4.2-magnitude tremor was recorded four days later and then, on March 23-24, there were 174 different recorded tremors. The first eruption occurred on March 27, when a 250-foot wide vent opened up on top of the mountain. Ash was blasted 10,000 feet in the air, some of which came down nearly 300 miles away in Spokane. The ash caused static electricity and lightning bolts.

Authorities issued a hazard watch for a 50-mile radius around the mountain. The National Guard set up road blocks to prevent access to the area, but these were easily avoided by using the region’s unguarded logging roads. Many residents of the area evacuated, but a substantial number refused. Harry Truman, 84–no relation to the former president–was one resident who refused to move and, after receiving a great deal of positive media coverage for his decision, became a national icon as well as, later, the subject of a local memorial.

volcano.jpg 2000px-1980_Mount_st_helens_ash_distribution.svg.png

·
Registered
13,782 Posts
I was working in Tacoma on that day. Even from there looking up in the sky you could see the ash plume. Later that day we learning about the people who died. I remember lots of interviews show on TV with Harry leading up to the eruption. Ten years later in 1990, I went to the mountain. I couldn't believe how devastated the place still looked. It's pretty overwhelming to see all the trees laying pointing outward according to the terrain. And so far out to boot.