TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
13,810 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I shift into 5th gear my transmission makes a whining sound when I'm giving it some "throttle". Anyone have a similar experience or an idea what could be causing this?

I've been riding it for several months, heck, even maybe since last summer but didn't really pay attention to it until this year. Thought I'd ask ya'll before, gulp, taking it to the dealer. It's under an extended warranty and I don't want to be messing with any more than I already have. I did add the kick starter a year or so ago but I wouldn't think it's the kick starter gears or I'd hear this noise in other gears wouldn't I?

Reactions: Ken

·
Super Moderator
18,142 Posts
My bike whines when I've had too many donuts and it wants me to get off... :D

***hope its nothing major Kris***

·
Registered
20,505 Posts
Record us some whining on a diagnostic video so we can listen and give bad advice? Just the bike, not you complaining when Lori asks you to take out the trash.

·
Registered
13,810 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Check the oil and make sure its not the tires whining as you go faster.
Have changed both tires at different times and it makes this sound. Only happens when I shift to 5th.

·
Registered
13,810 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Record us some whining on a diagnostic video so we can listen and give bad advice? Just the bike, not you complaining when Lori asks you to take out the trash.
I can pick it out of some of my past video's but it would be too hard for ya'll to hear it. Near future, I'll position the camera down near the engine so it's a little easier to here. Hopefully wind and normal engine sounds to mask the whine.

·
Super Moderator
18,142 Posts
Which of these does it sound like? :D

·
Super Moderator
5,325 Posts
Seriously though - it's gonna be a bearing - but it may not be coming from the gearbox