TW200 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to this forum and couldn't find anything about this particular swap.
I found a relatively cheap plastic gas tank from a ttr225 and was wondering
if anyone has tried to install one of these on their TW? If so, was it a pain in the butt
or possibly something simple? Thanks in advance for any advise on this!

·
Registered
20,211 Posts
Looks to be as feasible as its kissing cousin, the XT225's, tank installation on a TW.
I installed a OEM metal XT225 tank without any issues following guidelines I found using "Search" and "Similar Threads" on this forum. However the TTR doesn't get much mention here so I have no real knowledge.
The 2.6 gallon capacity does sound attractive.
I would be tempted to try it with the understanding that getting the TW side panels to fit up against the plastic tank might require creativity. For instance I have piece of soft copper wire lightly tying together and pulling in the pointed tips of left and right side panel on a 4 salon plastic tank equipped TW. This keeps my pants from snagging on any protruding plastic.

ttr.jpg

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info, not sure whether to go Clarke tank as I don't know how well it will take paint(hate the clear plastic) or go with something I have to modify.

·
Registered
1,305 Posts