TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, new here and new to TWs. I bought mine a year ago and logged 2k miles of trails on it along with 1000 of commuting. I love this bike. Handles and brakes better than any sport bike I’ve ever ridden. However since I moved further away from my work and it’s all highway in North Jersey, I can’t peg the tw at top speed for 45mins each way every day, And I come from a 4x4 background engine swaps and custom fabrication are the norm. I looked around and just saw everyone say engine swaps aren’t possible or too expensive or not worth it. However I’m a welder/machinist and want to tackle this. I want to keep a carb, have a parallel twin for packaging, and to keep the bike as close to stock weight as possible. Not many engines to choose from in North America, then I remembered ninja 250s exist. I can’t find any info on the outer dimensions of the engine, but any help would be appreciated. I know a new custom longer output sprocket shaft will needed but that’s what my boys who run the lathes and Bridgeport are for.

Thanks,
Dan

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
I have not seen dimensions for either motor.
Might have to spend ~$300 for a used motor to get started.
My 2018 XT250 was only about 10 MPH faster than my 2017 TW200.
A twin may be an improvement.
My 1967 CB160 Honda would run an indicated 92 MPH (speedometer error not checked, but strongly suspect).
OTOH, my 1967 CL160 (used, purchased in 1969) would barely do ~80.

·
Super Moderator
17,954 Posts
Welcome to the forum!! :D

·
Registered
20,179 Posts