TW200 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this group has been a ton of help to me during the research for my tw project so i figured id share some of its details and a few pics. im a novice at bike mods but i have enjoyed this project for the most part. i originally bought this '90 tw three years ago with no title for $80 with intentions of making it a beater for some family property outside of town. i got it running just enough to hear that the engine was hurt, which i half way expected anyways. while researching rebuild kits and such, i discovered that guys had been running 225's and it kind of spiraled from there. i ended up buying a beat up 02 ttr225 with ignition issues for $450, got it running using the tw ignition system, and started swapping everything. its hard to sum up 3 yrs worth of poking in a paragraph, but ill give a highlight reel. i was able to get a bonded title early this year and was able to get the bike licensed and insured with it so ive been riding the crap out of it for the past week and have probably put 100 miles on it on the street. i also took it on its maiden off-road voyage this past weekend and had an absolute blast with it. as with any good project, its not done but it does function and it gets a lot of attention around town haha. thanks for all of the great posts that allowed me to cobble this thing together!
1990 tw200 chassis
2002 ttr225 engine, air box, carb, exhaust, and 6 spd; 15/55 sprockets
modded tw output shaft
tw ignition system and side covers
starter and battery delete (freeze plug in place of starter, capacitor in place of battery)
bw triple tree
tw rear wheel and axle up front
duro 26x8 front and rear
ttr forks, front disc setup, and half of the front hub
cyclerack
junkyard subaru fog lights
junkyard f450 recovery hook
front fender cut from a 50 gal drum

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
Too cool, SRT...great job!

·
Registered
271 Posts