TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to having a bike meant for off/on road got my new bike and finally had decent weather to go and get it dirty.
How do most of you wash your bike afterwards? And tips on these specific bikes?

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
I wait until she has cooled off....then hose her down.
Pay attention under the fenders...it likes to build up in there. As well as the back side of the muffler...where it will stick and rust away part of your exhaust.

Don't use a pressure-washer....regular garden hose will do.

·
Registered
13,905 Posts
Well, the washing style depends on how dirty your TW gets.

If it has a light coat of dirt/mud like this TW, we prefer TW-Brians method

I call it the "bird bath method". This causes a different kind of "pressure wash"...not falling pressure!

I'm sure somebody will come on here and tell you a more common-sense approach to washing the TW...but it ain't as much fun!

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
all I would say is just be careful with any high pressure around the wheel/axle seals as it is possible to inject water into the wheel bearings... which will rust the bearings in short order

·
Registered
89 Posts
My go to method is to spray down with simple green then hose off with garden hose then wash with normal car wash soap then rinse. I then blow off the water with a leaf blower then a short ride up and down the street to dry it off dragging the brakes to heat them up then lube the chain and put her to bed.

·
Registered
69 Posts
My go to method is to spray down with simple green then hose off with garden hose then wash with normal car wash soap then rinse. I then blow off the water with a leaf blower then a short ride up and down the street to dry it off dragging the brakes to heat them up then lube the chain and put her to bed.
+1 for the leaf blower!

·
Registered
1,226 Posts