TW200 Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite BOTM winner for the year of 2022 HERE!

Washing your bike

6K views 28 replies 22 participants last post by  Dane_The_Meng 
#1 ·
im new to having a bike meant for off/on road got my new bike and finally had decent weather to go and get it dirty.
How do most of you wash your bike afterwards? And tips on these specific bikes?

#4 ·
Well, the washing style depends on how dirty your TW gets.

If it has a light coat of dirt/mud like this TW, we prefer TW-Brians method

I call it the "bird bath method". This causes a different kind of "pressure wash"...not falling pressure!

I'm sure somebody will come on here and tell you a more common-sense approach to washing the TW...but it ain't as much fun!

#11 ·
I use Simple Green on the entire bike but try not to get too much around the wheel seals. A stiff brush works well to get the gunk of the chain. Also after drying the bike I use silicone spray on the undersides of the fenders and front frame down tube. This helps to keep the mud from sticking. Also if you have been riding in the dust clean your air filter!! The Dub's just have a small sheet of foam so it gets clogged pretty quickly. Spray with Simple Green,rinse and re oil it. Also if there's been a lot of water crossings give the swing arm zerks a shot of grease.

#13 ·
If you have a high mount front fender and you know there will be sticky mud put several strips of duct tape under it. Make sure it over laps and extends over the top. Then when it starts to build up just peel it off. I've used this trick on long muddy Hare Scrambles and it's kept me moving. It also works on the frame down tube.

#14 ·
I just gave mine a light wash for the first time. There doesn't seem to be much to watch out for or any hard places to hit.