TW200 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
592 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been working on our 89 tdub and we have noticed that the exhaust pipe gets super hot very quickly
My 2013 doesn't heat up fast like that
Is this this normal?
Im talking about the front of the pipe,close to where it connects to the head,about where it bends
Thanks for any info....

·
Registered
6,406 Posts
Is it clearing the back of the muffler properly? By this I mean is the spark arrestor clogged up and the exhaust is not flowing out of the muffler easily.

Tom

·
Super Moderator
17,953 Posts
It's running leaner than the other.

·
Registered
592 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If I put my hand back there its making it out ok. tried removing the spark arrestor, but the phillips screw is stripped. Thinking I may drill it out to inspect

·
Registered
592 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Im not sure Tommy,im new to all the carb stuff. i have a rebuild kit on the way. Gonna have a yamaha guy rebuild it for me

·
Super Moderator
17,953 Posts
If he adjusts everything right, it should purr like a kitten and won't get so hot. Keep us posted. Might want to check the valves along with the carb work.

·
Registered
6,406 Posts
If I put my hand back there its making it out ok. tried removing the spark arrestor, but the phillips screw is stripped. Thinking I may drill it out to inspect
My bike is 5 weeks old and I had to drill mine out. I had the correct screwdriver bit and when it would not budge I warmed it up a bit with a torch which did not help. I can't believe for a bike that you will pay $5,000 for Yamaha is sooooo cheap with some of the hardware.

Tom

·
Registered
592 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
It already purs like a kitten Tommy... Choke it in the morning,starts rite up! Then rite to half choke for 10 seconds then no choke idles nice and low and quiet