TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,750 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm looking at gps maps for my garmin for utah. it seems if i buy the 24k topo maps, i have to buy maps for 4 states, 3 of which i will not use, for about $140. if i buy huntview maps i can get just utah and save $40. does any one use the huntview style of map? being a novice, i'm not clear on the differences between the different types of maps

·
Registered
158 Posts
I used the Gaia app on my iPhone last year when I rode from St. George, UT to the Bar 10 Ranch. It worked great, especially for $20. Note: this app will work even when out of cell phone tower range using the satellite receivers in your smart phone. I will say there is a bit of a learning curve and I brought paper maps I printed at home and hand drawn maps I made myself as back ups. Never had to use those though. Just stopped every once in a while and did a spot check with Gaia to make sure I was still on track.

Gaia GPS helps you find your way anywhere, even offline | Macworld

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
Hey grewen. I have Gaia too. A dedicated gps has a lot going for it. But if you are willing to switch technology the smart phone app has great maps in several formats for $20 total. Just saying. Gps chart plotters for boats use to be thousands of dollars. The dedicated charts many more hundreds. I can now do the same thing on an iPad for $50 in nav apps. If Garmin were smart they would unlock the maps as their closed format is dying. For $20 what's to lose? Sorry this doesn't answer your question either.

·
Registered
2,750 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
that would mean i would have to get rid of my 2 year old montana ($500) and buy a $700 smart phone, mmmm let me see.....no. does any one have any info on the garmin maps?

·
Registered
343 Posts
garmin.openstreetmap.nl or gpsfiledepot.com