TW200 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so for all intents and purposes I am brand new to wrenching, though I do perform basic routine maintenance on my bikes. I have two TWs (1989 and 1994) and both need some love, so my intent is to tear one down to the frame this fall/winter and troubleshoot everything and make all necessary repairs. While I don't have the experience yet, I am intelligent enough to learn and I am eager to do so (already learning the fundamentals of the single-phase system plus I just bought a service manual, too). In order to diagnose issues within the charging and electrical system, I'll need a multimeter and this is where I need help from those of you with more knowledge and experience than I have. I am looking at three Fluke meters now:

Fluke 107 AC/DC Current Handheld Digital Multimeter $103
Fluke 107 AC/DC Current Handheld Digital Multimeter by Fluke, Gray: Amazon.com: Industrial & Scientific

Fluke 101 Basic Digital Multimeter Pocket Portable Meter $43
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JT5RUUU/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=A348TFKJ0TSFC5&psc=1

Fluke 115 Compact True-RMS Digital Multimeter $144
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000OCFFMW/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1

So, I’d rather buy what I need up front and not buy the wrong meter now and then have to buy another one down the road as I become more educated. To this end, can someone please let me know if the most basic of these would be sufficient to diagnose any charging/electrical issues on the bike or would I need to step up to one of the more expensive models? If one of the other two, would the middle level model that measures 10A be sufficient or should I go with the higher end version that measures 20A? I have no problem at all spending the money, but I don’t want to buy a $150 meter when the $45 meter would meet all of my needs.