TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
13,230 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Yahoo, Finally got snow yesterday so I could test out the tire chains. My intent was to go for a long ride out in the training area, but the snow kept sticking to my goggles. Who needs to see, right? Tell me Georgie doesn't like the howling wind and snow!

·
Registered
59 Posts
Yahoo, Finally got snow yesterday so I could test out the tire chains. How old am I again? Weird thing is, after 4 inches of snow, it's all gone after it started raining last night. Was hoping to go out for more than a test ride, and I ain't gonna go ride in this glue-o-matic mud today.

My actual intent was to go for a long ride out in the training area, but the snow kept sticking to my goggles. Who needs to see, right? Well, you can tell the snow was sticking as it was getting on the camera lens too!

Anyway, I took it easy to start with since I've no experience riding in the snow with chains. Riding in the snow yes, tentatively and slow, but not with chains. It wasn't long before I was giving the TW some throttle. Did really good.

Tell me Georgie doesn't like the howling wind and snow!

You'll see I took it a little slow around the corners on account I don't have chain on the front. It was fun. I can't wait for the next snow!

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=upsoNod3iCw[/media]

·
Registered
2,132 Posts
Wow, I'm glad we didn't get to see Admiral biff it! It must've felt pretty solid to get up to the speeds you were going. I would think that would be a must have modification for anyone who lives where there is a lot of snow. Fun! Thanks for showing us how well it works!

·
Registered
3,517 Posts
Good job Admiral! Given my limited experience I think you will find that chains on the front will help keep you upright when the snow gets thin and you begin dealing with mud. Rear wheel traction is of minimal value if you can't steer. If you want, I will mail you my ski for further testing