TW200 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son and I have been riding TW's for about 13 years - he want to move up to a 250cc dual sport but they all have narrow tires - Ihave never ridden one

What are the drawbacks and plusses for a narrow tire

Thanks

·
Registered
1,930 Posts
No drawbacks for either. Perhaps better handling on tarmac with a thinner tire.
Some say better handling off-road with a thicker tire but I've sometimes found that to be a very false case of confidence.

Thinner will almost always be better for a faster ride if that's important to you. Your question is too wide depending on what type of riding you are doing. Like knobbies vs. 50-50 tires in mud.
What type of riding you do will determine plus or minus's.

IMG_2577.JPG

IMG_2578.JPG

IMG_2580.JPG

·
Super Moderator
5,297 Posts
Every time you think you have it sussed, someone will go past you with exactly the opposite

One thing I have noticed, is that fat tires do better at low speeds, skinny at higher – but then the sentence above still applies …

·
Registered
19 Posts
Not exactly based in science, but I feel the wider tires give more sidewall grip on off camber trails. My TW200 with Shinko 241 up front can track quite nicely on steep side sloped trails. When I had a WR250R it had D606's on it and it would often want to slide down those side slopes. Did it make enough difference to effect anything? No probably not. All the hardcore enduro riders ride with tires skinnier than the TW200 and it doesn't seem to hold them back at all...

One unmentioned plus for wide tires is they look sexier ;)

·
Registered
234 Posts
I don't ride fast....I ride slow....IMHO wider tires are better when traction is important...like mud....snow.....sand.....streams ….. and most important for me..... ruts.....

Since I also ride slow on firm and stable surfaces.....the TW tires are what I prefer...:)

·
Registered
1,473 Posts